Archive for the ‘Award-Winners’ Category

The Outside by Gil Adamson – Dedication

In Adventure, Award-Winners, Books on February 7, 2011 at 3:27 pm

Gil Adamson dedicated The Outlander:

For Adrian, the good father.

The Outlander, set in rural Montana and Idaho, won the Books in Canada First Novel Prize and the Dashiell Hammett Prize, and it also made the shortlist for the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize. The book wraps you into the story of a young woman on the run. Nicholas Campbell championed it for 2009’s Canada Reads debates.

Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston – Dedication

In Award-Winners, Black Authors, Books, Novels on January 27, 2011 at 10:17 am

Did you read this one in school? Zora Neale Hurston dedicated her award-winning novel Their Eyes Were Watching God:



Dr. Henry Allen Moe served as President of the Guggenheim Foundation for over 40 years, guiding countless artists, scholars and scientists. He left to become President of the American Philosophical Society (1959-1970). His widow created the Henry Allen Moe Prize in the Humanities in 1982.

Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon – Dedication

In Adventure, Award-Winners, Books on July 20, 2010 at 11:57 am

Michael Chabon dedicated his Pulitzer Prizewinner The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay:

To my father.

Chabon’s mother raised him as a single parent. Years after he published Kavalier and Clay, Chabon said this about his dad:

‘My own father had always been an elusive figure in my life. My father-in-law, on the other hand, offered himself completely, without reservation.’

NPR has the complete story (with very harsh comments from readers, haha).